Tags

, , , , ,

One election over and we look down the years to the next.  One name being touted as the next saviour of the Grand Ol’ Party is Senator Mario Rubio (R – Fl).

He should be good, he is handsome (always important in American Politics), and as a hispanic a representative from one of the constituencies poorly served by Mitt’s campaign crew.

After two years of Mitt bumbling about they need a new image a fresh start, something new.  So what in goodness name makes them choose this rube?

Here he is in a GQ Interview designed for today’s metrosexual man giving us his opinion on the age of the earth.  Please, please do read this.

I’m not a scientist, man. I can tell you what recorded history says, I can tell you what the Bible says, but I think that’s a dispute amongst theologians and I think it has nothing to do with the gross domestic product or economic growth of the United States. I think the age of the universe has zero to do with how our economy is going to grow. I’m not a scientist. I don’t think I’m qualified to answer a question like that. At the end of the day, I think there are multiple theories out there on how the universe was created and I think this is a country where people should have the opportunity to teach them all. I think parents should be able to teach their kids what their faith says, what science says. Whether the Earth was created in 7 days, or 7 actual eras, I’m not sure we’ll ever be able to answer that. It’s one of the great mysteries.

Yeah and I thought this was a joke!  Nope it’s for real.

Now remember, Mario the Rube is actually sitting on today’s Commerce, Science and Transportation committee.  That’s Science as in systematic, reproducible, testable knowledge rather than a random faith based hope, and stories for children.  Should raise a few eyebrows round scientific circles world-wide. They ought to give him an interesting reception at the next scientific conference he bowls along to.  Does he have views on climate change too?  Who stuck this medievalist onto such an important committee?

Where do the Republicans find these guys?  How does anyone who can come out with myth peddling guff like this possibly persuade a selection committee to have them taken on? What is wrong with their selection panels? Who chooses the selectors?

Somehow, just somehow, the GOP has got to man up and junk the religious magic and mystery stuff and join the modern world.  It’s not like we couldn’t all do with some pro-science and pro-technology solutions to the world’s problems and American unemployment.

Jeb Bush’s prospects for 2016 just got better.

Copyright David Macadam 2012

 

 

