Tags

, , , , , , , ,

1397681152_chelsea-clinton-lgWho said Damien?

Well she may have kept us waiting but you must admit her timing is stunning.

And the news whirls round the world as if she is royalty, which in some ways she is. Chelsea finally stopped the speculation on Thursday at the Tribeca Film Festival.

One more thing to say very quickly,” the 34-year-old mother-to-be addressed the crowd. “Mark and I are very excited that we have our first child arriving later this year. I certainly feel all the better whether it’s a girl or a boy that they’ll grow up in a world with so many strong female leaders…”

So a nice nod to mummy’s run come 2016 then. Actually it’s more than just a nod. A real wild card has been played regarding the possibility we will finally get a firm shout from Hills for her run in 2016. Being First Grandmother will only help Hillary soften her image, and Chelsea and the baby might draw appeal from some younger voters.

There has been constant speculation since that lavish wedding in Rhinebeck, N.Y., back in July 2010 about her becoming pregnant. Chelsea is a clever little Clinton and will have managed this as shrewdly as we might expect. Timing is all.

Indeed while we are all concentrating on Hillary Chelsea seems to be lining up for a run herself. As she said to “Fast Company” in May’s issue …”I live in a city and a state and a country where I support my elected representatives,” the NYC resident says in the magazine. “If at some point that weren’t the case, and I didn’t support my mayor or my city councilwoman or my congresswoman or either of my senators — and I’m lucky to live in a state where I have lots of women representing me, you know — maybe then I’d have to ask and answer the question for myself,” she says, alluding to potential offices of interest. “And come to a different answer.

And if we look at the latest photographs of her she seems more svelte, and confident, and dare one suggest there has some tooth and nose work? Essential for the budding politico.

0013 clinton
If she does run it will be with some baggage. Old man Bill still attracts his enemies and Hills is like marmite. The Genealogical background for her hubby is also problematic. In March 2001, Mark’s father Edward Mezvinsky ( an old style Democrat funder) was indicted and later pleaded guilty to 31 of 69 charges of bank fraud, mail fraud, and wire fraud. Nearly $10 million was involved in the crimes. Shortly after his indictment, he was diagnosed with bipolar disorder, but the judge at his trial disallowed a mental illness defence. He served his time at Federal Prison Camp, Eglin, as Federal Bureau of Prisons # 55040-066, and was released in April 2008. He remained on federal probation until 2011, and owes substantial restitution to his victims which shows little sign of being paid.

Copyright David Macadam 2014